Where to start? What kind of printer? I want to pioneer this in my country for indigents. Works in the medical field

General discussion related to getting started.
jrnozid

Where to start? What kind of printer? I want to pioneer this in my country for indigents. Works in the medical field

Postby jrnozid » Fri Jan 01, 2016 11:20 am

Hi! I've been fascinated with 3d printers for the past few years and I really wanted to buy one but so far found no use of it until now. I work in the medical field and most people around me does also. I also have a friend who has a dad who already has a position in the association of orthopedics in my country that's why this community got me really interested when I saw the video of 3d printing prosthetics on youtube. It got me really interested because I thought these prosthetics cost a lot but when I found out the cost it got me really thinking how we can give children and adults here the option of getting prosthetic arms and limbs for just a small amount since we're a third world country and people here can't afford high-cost prsthetics. So now here I am searching through the web how to start, so I'd appreciate if you guys can answer my question below, thanks :)

1.What is the best printer should I buy from this list considering that money is not an issue and that I am a fast learner on electronics and computer and I want a machine that doesn't get obsolete fast and wont need to change it in a few years( meaning , it can go on par with upcoming future technology of 3d printers). Also, a machine that can be used daily since we will be printing a lot of prostethics if the need arise. I find mysef in the ENTHUSIAST and DIY category but I'm having a hard time picking which is the best for prosthetic production
https://www.3dhubs.com/best-3d-printer-guide

2. Are all the blueprints for prosthetic creation here for free?

3. What other things should I consider before starting on this path?

4. Is it hard to learn the basic of 3d printing?