Avoiding fatigue from flexion

For discussion of hand designs.
peridotclover

Avoiding fatigue from flexion

Postby peridotclover » Mon Jun 15, 2015 9:20 pm

Hi! My name is Iris Lin, and I am a Biomedical engineering intern / Second year medical student at the University of Virginia. I have been working with a team here on printing and assembling E-nable designs. After assembling our last hand, a Raptor Reloaded, I brought the completed assembly to get some input from an Orthopedic surgeon we are working with, and from that meeting, I had a design consideration that I was wondering if anyone has found a solution to?

Under the current design of the Raptor Reloaded, in order to grasp something, the user flexes the wrist, which leads to flexion of the fingers. This means that in order to pick up something for an extended period of time (e.g. holding a spatula while cooking), one must keep the wrist flexed during the duration of the grasping action. The problem is, I would imagine that the extended period that the user must exert force to keep the wrist flexed could easily lead to fatigue or soreness in the wrist / forearm.

I experimented on switching the tension cords on the Raptor reloaded, so that the resting position of the hand would be a grasping position, and flexion of the wrist would result in extension of the fingers; however, this resulted in a pretty weak grip strength. Has anyone designed solutions that might incorporate either a locking mechanism that would allow the user to lock the hand in the grasping position, or a way for the maintenance of the grip to require less than continual force from the user?

Thanks! :)

AdamArabian

Re: Avoiding fatigue from flexion

Postby AdamArabian » Wed Jun 17, 2015 6:28 am

You, my friend, have hit upon one of our holy grails.

A voluntary open hand would be excellent but it would demand an enormous amount of strength in the forearm muscles in order to have any reasonable grip strength.